Awards 2024

Awards 2024

university of suffolk students union student and staff awards 10th may 2024

The Students’ Union Awards is an annual celebration of the efforts and success of all our staff and students.  Each year, students and staff  submit nominations in different categories. A panel reads all the nominations and presents a shortlist and a winner in each category. The SU Awards celebrate those members of the University community who go above and beyond to make student life that little bit easier, and this year we're pleased to announce that there will be even more awards up for grabs than ever before!



Society Of The Year Award sponsored by Woodward Markwell winner: Women's Society
society of the year, women's society, pictured members of the society smiling

Sports Club Of The Year Award sponsored by Seckford Golf Club winner: Football Team
sports club of the year, football, pictured football team

Sportsperson Of The Year Award sponsored by the Forge Kitchen winner: Emily Betts
sportsperson of the year, emily betts, pictured with su ceo dionne

Campaign Of The Year Award winner:

Random Acts Of Kindness

campaign of the year winner sam holding a microphone

Part Time officer Of The Year Award winner: Leesha Daniellspart-time officer of the year, leesha daneills, pictured holding a microphone

Academic Rep Of The Year Award winners:

Emily Betts & Henry Kiddy

Student Staff Of The Year Award winner:

Lucy Sullivan

Inclusivity Champion of the year sponsored by Geek Retreat Ipswich winner:

Lauren Searle
inclusivity champion of the year, lauren searle, smiling with a certificate

Lecturer Of The Year Award winner:

Dr Keith Ruiter
dr keith rutter,, winner of the lecturer of the year, smiling on stage with president lewis and head of operations jacob

Support Staff Of The Year Award winner:

Heidi Crowell
support staff of the year winner, heidi crowell, smiling holding a microphone

Department Of The Year Award winner: 

Student Life
department of the year winners, student life, with ceo dionne


Staff Outstanding Contribution Award sponsored by Paddy and Scotts winner: Dr Alina Rzepnikowska Phillips

awards winner alina with president lewis, smiling

Student Outstanding Contribution Award sponsored by Wagamama winner: Sam Clarke

award winner sam clarke smiling with a microphone




Read more about the catergories


Nominations are now closed.


Nominations are now closed.

Both staff and students are welcome to submit as many nominations as they would like for the student only awards.
We recognise that campus staff may see the wider work that our students do and we want to recognise that without putting limits on the number of nominations you can make.
Unfortunately, for staff and department only awards, only students may submit nominations for these - any staff submitting nominations for staff awards will not be considered.



If you’re a student – absolutely! We actively encourage this if you feel like you’ve done excellent work this year which relates to one of the awards.
If you’re a member of staff – unfortunately you cannot nominate yourself or your department for any awards.

Absolutely, you can nominate the same person for as many awards as you like if you’re a student. Please ensure that you read the criteria for each award and make sure your nominations are catered to each award category to ensure your nominees have the best chance of being shortlisted.

Students’ Union career staff, including Presidents, cannot be shortlisted for awards, however student staff can be.
If you would like to submit a nomination to celebrate the work of any of these people, your nomination will be passed on to that member of staff and the SU SLT, but it will not be included in the list for consideration of an award.


When the panel shortlist, all nominations will be anonymised, so we won’t know who has submitted a nomination. We will also redact the nominee’s name to ensure as fair a process as possible.

The names of our shortlisted nominees will be announced April 25th at 9am when voting goes live! All nominees will also recieve an email to let them know a few weeks before.

The awards night will be on Friday 10th May 2024, at 7pm in A Listers at Aurora. We will invite all those who are shortlisted, and each nominee also gets a plus one. Tickets are free for all attendees!

A panel of 5 UOS students and one non-voting chair will make up the panel. Voting will be open to all UOS students through an online portal.

Voting will open April 25th at 9am, you can vote through our voting link here voting link here: !

Due to the financial pressures we have all felt during the cost of living crisis, your SU felt that the money usually put into throwing a Summer Ball would be better spent making more smaller events throughout the year that students can access free of charge.

It also didn't feel right charging students high ticket prices, when the feedback we've had this year has been focussed on students having to cut back on essentials in order to continue their studies, so instead we are celebrating the end of the year in style with the awards ceremony, which has been sponsored by local businesses, to ensure that every student who is shortlisted and their plus one can attend for free.


Find out who won the awards in previous years: